Pilgrim’s reflections – 2

Written by Janet

Our pilgrimage was thoroughly enjoyable. Walking and sharing stories/experiences with lovely people who ‘get grief’ was therapeutic. I cried at times but laughed much more. Simply being with others and enjoying beautiful scenery, abundant wildflowers and the kindness of strangers was such a blessing. Tea and cake at various cafes was a welcome bonus.

I took 3 stones. The first was left in a little cranny in the crypt at Finchale. I laid it with gratitude (and tears) for all that has been and the life and love I shared with Ron my late husband. The stone was riddled with holes which appropriately mirrored the fragility I often feel. It also was a marker of ‘here I am’, not where I would have chosen to be but recognising the choice to own and accept life as it is now. Some words from a R4 Thought For The Day were and are in my mind – “acknowledge the past, re-think the present and re-imagine the future“. The context on the radio was nothing to do with bereavement but they resonate with me in the journey of grief.

The second stone, along with a bunch of wildflowers, was left in the churchyard at Escomb as per pilgrim tradition, laying down a stone of sorrow at the end of the journey. I guess it’s like another marker that is both an end and a beginning. It symbolised a laying down of the fear and anxiety that at times can overwhelm. I will still struggle at times but my intention, as best I can, is to embrace the future and trust that “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of things shall be well”.

The walk itself was a powerful image of simply putting one foot in front of the other, taking life one step at a time. The only step you can take is the next one. I stumbled at one point when one foot found a hole and I almost went headlong flat on my face! I managed to stay upright and was mindful of Psalm 37:24 ” though she may stumble, she will not fall, for the Lord upholds her with his hand”.

The third stone is kept as a reminder of the pilgrimage and the special time shared with an amazing group of friends.

Acknowledge the past,
re-think the present and
re-imagine the future

Published by Abi May

Retreat leader, trainer, writer, researcher, volunteer. Mother with no surviving children.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started